Our Governance and Board

IPRA is governed by a regionally-elected Board of senior PR professionals. It is administered by a Secretary General and a Member Services Manager.

Board 2018

Bart de Vries - President

Bart de Vries is Dutch and 2016, 2017 and 2018 IPRA President. He has been a Board member since 2009. Until January 2016, he was managing director of Hollander van der Mey (HvdM), Holland’s oldest PR agency founded in 1951. Currently he is Associate Senior Consultant for HvdM, working on selected accounts and projects. Bart has gathered expertise in strategic counseling, crisis preparedness programs, spokesperson programs and editorial services. He is a speaker at communication conferences and summits and gives guest courses at universities and colleges.

Nigel Chism - Treasurer

Nigel Chism is British and finance director of Kajima Partnerships, the UK subsidiary of the Japanese Kajima Corporation. Educated at the John Lyon School and (what is now) the University of Westminster, he qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Ernst & Young in 1979, where he worked on a wide variety of audits.

Following a spell working for the government in Bermuda he returned to the UK to work as Finance and then joint Managing Director of Kingsway Public Relations, which was bought up by the Saatchi brothers. He continued in PR and marketing, becoming Managing Partner of the design company Fitch: London in 2003. He continues his association with PR as non-executive Chairman of Eriskay02, a company that specialises in marketing between Turkey and the UK and as Treasurer of the International Public Relations Association. He is also a director of a publishing company (a thankless task).

He served with the reserve forces in The Royal Green Jackets. He was a long-term trustee of the charity Family Action, is a member of the Garrick, a freeman of the City of London and Liveryman of the Wheelwrights’ Company. He still plays drums sometimes.

Hasan Al Hasan

Hasan is Saudi and a former director of Saudi Aramco Exhibit in Dharan, Saudi Arabia. He holds a MBA from the King Fahad University of Petroleum & Minerals as well as a degree in industrial operations from the University of Alabama. Hasan is a former president of the IPRA Gullf Chapter. He previously worked with the Saudi Project Management Institute and the Arabian Society of Human Resources Management.

Yomi Badejo-Okusanya

Yomi is Nigerian and the managing director of Nigeria’s CMC Connect Group. The group consists of CMC Connect Burson Marsteller, Tangelo Africa, I – Octane and Reignite Public Affairs. He is secretary-general of the African PR Association. He was a recipient of the PR Golden Eagle Award recognising the most outstanding public relations person for the year 2010.

Esra Dillon

Esra is British and CEO of Eriskay PR. She has extensive experience providing PR and marketing services in London for business between the UK and Turkey. Esra’s career has included roles at EDS-BOX, The Walt Disney Company and Adaytum. She holds a degree in fine art and is a member of the London Chamber of Commerce. Esra is the UK editor for Turkey Magazine. She is a regular judge for the IPRA GWA awards.

Elena Fadeeva

Elena is Russian and founder and general director of Moscow-based FleishmanHillard Vanguard as well as being President of Russia’s Orta Communications Group.

Edd Fuentes

Edd Fuentes, a Filipino national, is the founder and president of FuentesManila, one of the leading PR agencies in the Philippines. With 25 years of experience the agency has produced some of the most successful campaigns in the Philippines for clients such as Citibank, Nippon Paint, Louis Vuitton, P&G, Pizza Hut, and Century Pacific Food. Prior to establishing the company, Edd worked with J. Walter Thompson as creative director for the Unilever Division. Edd served as an IPRA Council Member from 2009-2011.

Maria Gergova

Maria is Bulgarian and managing director of Sofia-based agency United Partners. Maria served as IPRA President in 2009, a year in which she was also voted as Bulgarian Business Woman of the year.

Anne-Gret Iturriaga Abarzua

Anne-Gret is Austrian and since 2008 head of communications for INEOS in Cologne, Germany where she is responsible for internal and external communications; community relations, lobbying, emergency response and CSR. Anne-Gret has a degree in economics and business communications from the University of Vienna. Anne-Gret has been a GWA judge and is a member of a number of national PR bodies.

Jim McQueeny

Jim is a US national and chairman of Winning Strategies. The company is a strategic communications firm based in Newark, New Jersey which seeks to integrate political strategy with advertising, public relations and digital content.

Enric Ordeix

Dr. Enric Ordeix is Spanish and a full-time professor of corporate and international public relations, academic director of MA-strategic management in global communication as well as professional careers director at Blanquerna School of Communication and International Relations, Ramon Llull University in Barcelona, Spain. He works part time at Emerson College, Boston, USA. He has recently been nominated as head of development for Blanquerna Foundation.

Jacqueline Purcell

Jacqueline has Irish and British ancestry. She is CEO of www.jasperalliancelondon.com She holds post-graduate degrees in Research and Education. She's taught under and postgraduate learners at top London Universities and developed a PR module that changed the curriculum in higher education in the UK. As a consultant, she has travelled extensively internationally for PR, Media Projects and IPOs including clients such as the United Nations IRD and Tier 1 global brands. Jacqueline is a GWA judge for over 10 years and has enjoyed seeing the development of the profession through the lens of the Golden World Award Entries.

Svetlana Stavreva (President elect)

Svetlana is Bulgarian and the chief marketing officer for IBM in South East Europe. She leads a team responsible for marketing, communications and citizenship. Svetlana has a masters degree in economics from the University of National and World Economy in Sofia, Bulgaria. She also holds a diploma from the UK Chartered Institute of Marketing. In her spare time she has been a journalist, lecturer and car racer.

Loula Zaklama

Loula is an Egyptian national and one of the longest serving IPRA Board members. Loula was IPRA President in 2006. As President of Rada Research and Public Relations, she founded the PR industry in Egypt establishing a dynasty which continues to flourish. She is a communication consultant and strategic planner to a number of government entities. Loula graduated from the American University in Cairo with a BA in mass communication. She is a regular judge for the IPRA GWA awards.

Mohammed Al Eady

Mohammed Al Eady is a Saudi national and advisor to the general manager of Saudi Aramco Public Affairs. He was elected as executive vice president of the IPRA Gulf Chapter for the 2017- 2018 term. He previously worked in various roles for the establishment of the King AbdulAziz Center for World Culture. He holds an MBA from the University of Hull, UK.

Philippe Borremans

Philippe is Belgian and an independent public relations consultant, based in Casablanca, specialising in online, risk & crisis communications. He started his career at Porter Novelli International and was PR manager for IBM for 10 years. He is also a guest lecturer at several universities and is the producer of Wag The Dog FM, a PR podcast.

Philip Sheppard - Secretary General

Philip is the Secretary General of IPRA and a former IPRA President. He is British and based in Brussels, Belgium. Philip is a professional association manager, IP and public affairs expert.